Bible Society of Kenya (BSK) is a non-sectarian, non-denominational organization registered under the Societies Act. It serves all Christian Churches, Para-Church Organizations and individuals. BSK is mandated to share the Good News of Jesus Christ by translating, producing, distributing, and encouraging use of the Holy Scriptures.

BSK traces her history to 1844, when Dr. Johannes Ludwig Krapf started translation of the Bible into Kimvita Kiswahili. In 1958 the British and Foreign Bible Society opened an office in Nairobi to serve East Africa, Mauritius, and Madagascar.

The Society was officially registered under the Societies Act as a national body in 1970. BSK was admitted to the United Bible Societies (a global association of national Bible societies) as an associate member in 1972 and became a full member in 1977. BSK remains a committed member of the United Bible Societies (UBS) fellowship. Over the years BSK has grown tremendously because of the collaboration and partnership in the fellowship. The Bible believing Churches, UBS fellowship, Para church organizations, learning institutions, individual Christians and the government of Kenya are key partners of the BSK in delivery of her mission.

The Society has so far translated the Bible into 21 local languages. Currently, BSK has 4 Bible translations including;  Teso, Banyala, Mwimbi Muthambi and Gikuyu Study Bible. Bibles at publishing stage are Igikuria Bible, Ekegusii Revised Bible, Teso New Testament.




× How can I help you?